a century too late

One of the large cast-iron book alcoves that lined the Main Hall.
The old Cincinnati Library, 1874-1955

Most of the first half of this year was given over to a much longer than expected job search and its attendant stresses. I’m finally set to become a Midwesterner again after spending all of my young adulthood so far in the Deep South. For one thing, I’m so happy to return to the Ohio public library system! I’ve been getting tired of borrowing most of the books I read from Open Library — a great resource, but not my preferred format. Looking forward to the wondrous bureaucratic excellence of Ohio’s Interlibrary Loan system…after having most of my ILL requests denied here.

(Related aside: The library field is super saturated and more competitive than I expected. Even with some archival experience and lots of office work under my belt, I didn’t get an interview with any of the libraries I applied to. Turns out there are way too many underemployed people with MLISes.)

Anyway, I’ve found it hard to focus on books these past few months when so much of my spare time has been devoted to applying for jobs, and worrying. The only book I really loved in this period was Celia by E.H. Young (maybe more on that later). I’m not sure I can totally pick up my reading until we’ve actually moved and settled into our new place, but I’m going to try. First, by participating in the BookTube Spin. Here are my 30 choices from books I already own and books on Librivox:

  1. The Education of Harriet Hatfield by May Sarton
  2. The Moon-Spinners by Mary Stewart
  3. Another book by Mary Stewart that’s already packed whose title I forget
  4. Miss Bianca by Margery Sharp
  5. Miss Mole by E.H. Young
  6. The Death of the Heart by Elizabeth Bowen
  7. The Man in the Wooden Hat by Jane Gardam
  8. The Dispossessed by Ursula K. LeGuin
  9. After the Divorce by Grazia Deledda
  10. Pictures of Perfection by Reginald Hill
  11. Nami-ko by Kenjiro Tokutomi
  12. Train Dreams by Denis Johnson
  13. Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer
  14. A Lost Lady by Willa Cather
  15. Iza’s Ballad by Magda Szabó
  16. The Corner that Held Them by Sylvia Townsend Warner
  17. Consequences by E.M. Delafield
  18. Adam Bede by George Eliot
  19. Silas Marner by George Eliot
  20. Felix Holt, the Radical by George Eliot
  21. The Echoing Grove by Rosamond Lehmann
  22. The Romantic by May Sinclair
  23. Passing by Nella Larsen
  24. Quicksand by Nella Larsen
  25. New Grub Street by George Gissing
  26. The Odd Women by George Gissing
  27. Beware of Pity by Stefan Zweig
  28. The Black Tulip by Alexandre Dumas
  29. Pointed Roofs by Dorothy Richardson
  30. Hester by Margaret Oliphant

3 thoughts on “a century too late”

    1. It was started by a Youtuber named Rick MacDonnell, who I haven’t actually watched, but a lot of book bloggers I follow are participating. You just make a list of 30 books you’d like to read, he randomly selects a number, and everyone has to read the nth book on their list. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment